Saint George (Bermuda)

The State House

Saint George (often called St. George's, a confusion with the parish it is in) is the second town and former capital of Bermuda. St. George is described as the oldest, continually inhabited English settlement in the new world. It was founded in 1612 and served as the capital of Bermuda until eclipsed by Hamilton in 1815. Because of a shift of business and government to Hamilton, St. George did not have its streets and buildings demolished and rebuilt as in Hamilton and therefore looks very much like it did 250 years ago. In fact, because of its many heritage buildings, it was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site during the 1990s.

Get in

Saint George is accessible directly from Hamilton by bus, and from the rest of the islands by changing buses in Hamilton, or by use of taxis.

Get around

All locations in and around Saint George are easily walkable. Explore St. George

See

St. George Bermuda Due to its status as a World Heritage Site, there are many fine old, colonial streets and buildings to immerse yourself in; streets and alleys with fanciful names such as 'Featherbed Alley', 'Old Maid's Lane' or 'Needle and Thread Alley'. However, the best thing to do upon arrival in the town is head for the main King's Square.

King's Square was the original main square of St. George and here you can see the Town Hall, the Visitor's Service Bureau and Ordinance Island across the a small bridge directly to your south. During the tourist season (May-September), actors in period dress provide colour to the community as acting as town criers or sentencing men or women to the stockades, pillories or the dunking chair

The Visitor's Service bureau supplies maps and brochures about the town and provides an excellent walking tour of the old town. Tour of St. George's town

The main attractions of St. George are:

The town boasts some notable museums and attractions:

Do

Eat & Drink

The best restaurants in St. George are:

Go next

This article is issued from Wikivoyage - version of the Saturday, January 24, 2015. The text is available under the Creative Commons Attribution/Share Alike but additional terms may apply for the media files.