How to Delete System Restore Files

Five Methods:Delete All Old System Restore Files, Except the Most RecentDelete All System Restore Files and Turn System Restore Off in Windows XPDelete All System Restore Files and Turn System Restore Off in Windows VistaDelete All System Restore Files and Turn System Restore Off in Windows 7Delete All System Restore Files and Turn System Restore Off in Windows 10

System restore allows you to set your computer back to a previous date when it was working correctly if something goes wrong with your system that you cannot reverse. You may want to delete system restore files to free up disk space on your drive. Here are some steps to delete old system files and to turn system restore off on your system.

Method 1
Delete All Old System Restore Files, Except the Most Recent

  1. Image titled Delete System Restore Files Step 1
    1
    Access the main menu by selecting "Start." Hover your cursor arrow over "All Programs," then the folder titled Accessories, and then System Tools. Click on the program called "Disk Cleanup."
  2. Image titled Delete System Restore Files Step 2
    2
    Choose the "(C:)" drive from the drop-down menu and then press "OK."
  3. Image titled Delete System Restore Files Step 3
    3
    Choose the tab marked "More Options" once Disk Cleanup has finished running its task. Under the heading "System Restore," click on the "Clean up" button.
  4. Image titled Delete System Restore Files Step 4
    4
    Choose "Yes" on the dialogue box to delete all old system restore files, except for the most recent.
    • Windows will continue to create new restore points after running this task, so if you would like to frequently free up space on your drive, you will need to perform the process regularly.

Method 2
Delete All System Restore Files and Turn System Restore Off in Windows XP

  1. Image titled Delete System Restore Files Step 5
    1
    Access the main menu by selecting "Start," place the cursor over My Computer and press the right mouse button, then choose "Properties."
  2. Image titled Delete System Restore Files Step 6
    2
    Select the heading marked "System Restore," then check the box next to "Turn off System Restore" and press "OK."

Method 3
Delete All System Restore Files and Turn System Restore Off in Windows Vista

  1. Image titled Delete System Restore Files Step 7
    1
    Access the main menu by selecting "Start," place the cursor over Computer and press the right mouse button, then choose "Properties."
  2. Image titled Delete System Restore Files Step 8
    2
    On the left-hand side of the window, choose the link called "System protection."
  3. Image titled Delete System Restore Files Step 9
    3
    Clear the checkmark next to your drive by clicking on it again
    • Click the "Turn System Restore Off" button.

Method 4
Delete All System Restore Files and Turn System Restore Off in Windows 7

  1. Image titled Delete System Restore Files Step 10
    1
    Access the main menu by selecting "Start," place the cursor over Computer and press the right mouse button, then choose "Properties."
  2. Image titled Delete System Restore Files Step 11
    2
    On the left-hand side of the window, choose the link called "System protection."
  3. Image titled Delete System Restore Files Step 12
    3
    Choose the button marked "Configure,"
    • Select the button next to "Turn off system protection" and click "Apply".

Method 5
Delete All System Restore Files and Turn System Restore Off in Windows 10

  1. Image titled Screenshot (102).png
    1
    Open Start menu by clicking "Start" or pressing Windows Key on your keyboard. Type "System" and press Enter. This will open System in Control Panel.
  2. Image titled System protection
    2
    Click System protection link in the left pane. A new window will open now. Select your system drive which is usually "C:" drive. It should have protection turned on.
  3. Image titled Enable system restore windows10
    3
    Click or tap on "Configure" button. A new window will appear now. Click or tap "Delete" button at the right-bottom to delete all restore points.
  4. 4
    Select "Disable system protection" and click Apply. Click yes in confirmation dialog to turn it off.

Tips

  • You may want to backup your important files before performing any of these tasks to avoid losing any important documents.

Warnings

  • It is not recommended that you disable System Restore on your computer. It will delete all restore points so you cannot return your system to an earlier state when it was working correctly.
  • Some programs on your system may become unresponsive, malfunction or stop working. Make sure you know what you are doing before you disable system restore on your computer.

Then again, THE most efficient and user-friendly way is to use CCleaner. You can delete points that otherwise cannot be deleted Windows or choose only the points you want to delete.

Article Info

Categories: Basic Computer Skills