How to Clear Your Online Activity

Four Methods:Chrome and FirefoxSafariInternet Explorer 7Internet Explorer 8 and Above

Every time you browse the internet your computer caches certain information within your hard drive. If you are thinking of selling your computer, hiding information from unwanted eyes, or even want to delete login information from important sites, you can easily delete your online activity in a few simple steps. While the process is relatively similar with all browsers, there are subtle differences between each one.

Method 1
Chrome and Firefox

  1. Image titled Clear Your Online Activity Step 1
    1
    Open the menu. After you open your browser, click on the menu in the upper right-hand corner. The menu's icon looks like three horizontal lines.
  2. Image titled Clear Your Online Activity Step 2
    2
    Go to your history. You can do this by going to "History" and then "History" again in Chrome and simply "History" in Firefox.
  3. Image titled Clear Your Online Activity Step 3
    3
    Select "Clear Browsing Data." In Firefox, this will be titled "Clear Browsing Data." This will prompt a window to appear from which you will select the online activity that you wish to clear.[1]
  4. Image titled Clear Your Online Activity Step 4
    4
    Select what you wish to delete. From the dropdown menu, select how far back in time you would like to clear. If you wish to delete all of your internet history, select "The Beginning of Time" in Chrome or "Everything" in Firefox.[2]
  5. Image titled Clear Your Online Activity Step 5
    5
    Check the box entitled "Browsing History." Other options you may check include "Form and Search History," "Cookies," "Active Logins," and "Cache." These options will delete things other than your browsing history, such as your saved passwords, recent searches, and personal information. To ensure complete erasure of your online activity, it is recommended that you select these boxes as well.
  6. Image titled Clear Your Online Activity Step 6
    6
    Select "Clear Browsing Data." Once you have specified what you want deleted, click on the button at the bottom of the window titled "Clear Browsing Data." Your online activity should now be cleared.

Method 2
Safari

  1. Image titled Clear Your Online Activity Step 7
    1
    Choose "History." From your Safari window, select "History" from the top of the page.
  2. Image titled Clear Your Online Activity Step 8
    2
    Select "Clear History." From the dropdown menu, select "Clear History" to delete all of your online activity.[3]
  3. Image titled Clear Your Online Activity Step 9
    3
    Select "Show History." If you would like to delete specific items from your browser history, then you can select them individually from this window and then press delete.

Method 3
Internet Explorer 7

  1. Image titled Clear Your Online Activity Step 10
    1
    Open "Internet Options." You can do this by going to the Start menu, then selecting "Control Panel," clicking "Network and Internet," and then "Internet Options."
  2. Image titled Clear Your Online Activity Step 11
    2
    Select the "General" tab. A drop down menu will appear where you may select "Browsing History."[4]
  3. Image titled Clear Your Online Activity Step 12
    3
    Click on the "History" tab. From here choose "Delete History" and then "OK." [5]
  4. Image titled Clear Your Online Activity Step 13
    4
    Close out of the window. You will then be shown a window. Click "OK."

Method 4
Internet Explorer 8 and Above

  1. Image titled Clear Your Online Activity Step 14
    1
    Open Internet Explorer. You can do this by going to the Start menu and then selecting "Internet Explorer."
  2. Image titled Clear Your Online Activity Step 15
    2
    Select the "Safety" button. Once you have done so, select "Delete Browsing History."[6]
  3. Image titled Clear Your Online Activity Step 16
    3
    Choose what kind of data you would like to delete. Some of the options will include "Browsing History," "Form and Search History," "Cookies," "Active Logins," and "Cache." These options will delete things other than your browsing history, such as your saved passwords, recent searches, and personal information. To ensure complete erasure of your online activity, it is recommended that you select these boxes as well.
  4. Image titled Clear Your Online Activity Step 17
    4
    Select "Delete." This will clear the online activity that you specified.

Article Info

Categories: Internet Browsers