How to Block a Google Account

Four Methods:Blocking using ComputerBlocking using AndroidBlocking using iOSCreating Filters in Gmail

Blocking a Google account can help prevent that particular user from contacting you via Google+, Google Hangouts, and Gmail. You can block users in Google+ and Google Hangouts directly from your own Google+ account, and can set up filters in Gmail to send unwanted emails directly to the trash folder.

Method 1
Blocking using Computer

  1. Image titled Block a Google Account Step 1
    1
    Log in to your Google+ account at https://plus.google.com/.
  2. Image titled Block a Google Account Step 2
    2
    Navigate to the Google+ profile of the user you want blocked.
  3. Image titled Block a Google Account Step 3
    3
    Click on the down arrow located next to the user’s profile name.
  4. Image titled Block a Google Account Step 4
    4
    Click on “Report/block.
  5. Image titled Block a Google Account Step 5
    5
    Place a checkmark in the box next to the name of the user you want blocked.
  6. Image titled Block a Google Account Step 6
    6
    Click on “Done. That particular user will now be blocked from contacting you in Google+ and Google Hangouts.[1]

Method 2
Blocking using Android

  1. Image titled Block a Google Account Step 7
    1
    Launch the Google+ app on your Android device.
  2. Image titled Block a Google Account Step 8
    2
    Use the search feature at the top of your Google+ session to navigate to the profile of the user you want blocked.
  3. Image titled Block a Google Account Step 9
    3
    Tap on the menu button located at the top of the user’s profile to access additional options. The menu button features three vertical dots.
  4. Image titled Block a Google Account Step 10
    4
    Tap on “Block,” then on “OK. That particular user will now be blocked from contacting you in Google+ and Google Hangouts.

Method 3
Blocking using iOS

  1. Image titled Block a Google Account Step 11
    1
    Launch the Google+ app on your iOS device.
  2. Image titled Block a Google Account Step 12
    2
    Tap on the menu icon located at the upper left corner of your Google+ session. The menu icon features three horizontal lines.
  3. Image titled Block a Google Account Step 13
    3
    Use the search feature to navigate to the profile of the user you want blocked.
  4. Image titled Block a Google Account Step 14
    4
    Tap on the gear icon at the upper right corner, then select “Block. That particular user will now be blocked from contacting you in Google+ and Google Hangouts.

Method 4
Creating Filters in Gmail

  1. Image titled Block a Google Account Step 15
    1
    Log in to your Gmail account at https://mail.google.com/.
  2. Image titled Block a Google Account Step 16
    2
    Navigate to an email that was sent to you by the person you want blocked.
  3. Image titled Block a Google Account Step 17
    3
    Click on the down arrow located to the right of “Reply.
  4. Image titled Block a Google Account Step 18
    4
    Click on “Filter messages like this.
  5. Image titled Block a Google Account Step 19
    5
    Verify that the user’s Gmail address displays in the “From” field, then click on “Create filter with this search.
  6. Image titled Block a Google Account Step 20
    6
    Place a checkmark next to the action you want performed when that particular user sends you an email. For example, if you want all emails from that user filtered directly to your trash folder, select “Delete it.”
  7. Image titled Block a Google Account Step 21
    7
    Click on “Create filter. Going forward, any emails sent to you from that Gmail user will filter directly to your trash folder.[2]

Tips

  • Users you block on Google+ and Google Hangouts will not be notified that you have blocked them; however, they may find out that you’ve blocked them after they notice they are no longer able to contact you using these applications.

Warnings

  • Keep in mind that blocking Google accounts will only block those people from viewing your Google profile if they are logged in to the account you blocked. Users who are not signed in, or are signed in to an alternate Google account may still be able to view and access your profile and any public posts.

Article Info

Categories: Computers and Electronics | Basic Computer Skills